Kerala State Election Commission

The State Election Commission is an institution Formed under Article 243 (k) of the Constitution of India to conduct elections to local bodies in the State.Elections to local bodies are conducted under the direct control and supervision of the State Election Commission under the provisions of the Panchayat Raj-Muni Municipality Rules. In addition to holding general elections to all local bodies at the end of the five-year term, the Commission also conducts by-elections to fill the vacancies that may arise in the position of members. In addition to its constitutional responsibilities, By exercising the powers conferred on the Commission under the Local Self Government Acts for the election of Chairpersons and Vice-Chairmen, members of the Standing Committee and Chairman of Local Bodies. The proceedings regarding no-confidence motions against the Chairmen, Vice-Chairmen and the Chairmen of the Standing Committee are also governed by an official authorized by the Commission. The Commission also has the power to disqualify candidates contesting elections if they fail to submit their election figures to the officer-in-charge. The Commission also serves as the judicial authority to decide on disputes over the disqualification of members and on petitions filed before the Commission under the Anti-Corruption Act. The reservation positions of members / councilors in local bodies are determined under the supervision of the Commission. The Commission shall distribute the reserved Chairman-Vice-Chairman and Standing Committee Chairman posts in the respective Institutions.


Secretary, Kerala State Election Commission
TC27 / 6 (2)
Vikas Bhavan P.O.
Thiruvananthapuram 695003